image
Stir fry bitter gourd with chicken. I only knew how to appreciate bitter gourd in recent years. When I was a child I always wonder why would people eat such bitter food? Now bitter gourd is my favourite vegetable and is a must have in my fridge. Stir fry with eggs, omelette style, yong tau hoo style, soup, stir fry with roasted pork and the list goes on. I made mine with lots of gravy as it goes really well with rice.

Bitter gourd
Chicken pieces
Soya sauce
Sugar
Shaoxing wine
Sesame oil
Corn flour
Black beans
Ginger
Garlic
Shallots
Spring onion
Stock or water

Marinate chicken pieces with sugar, soya sauce, wine, sesame oil and corn flour for at least 4 hours.

Stir fry chicken for about 2 minutes over high heat. Remove chicken and stir fry bitter gourd.

Add the ginger, garlic and shallots, spring onions and black beans and stir fry with the bitter gourd for 2 minutes.

Add stock and bring mixture to the boil and reduce the heat. Cover and simmer for 3 minutes until chicken is cooked through. Sprinkle spring onion before serving.

